The old rocking horse

I was asked today to provide some information about the local play ground as there is a chance the surrounding area might be improved as a pocket park. Clare who runs a local organisation managing environmental projects wanted to know more, so I offered to take a few pictures once the rain stopped.  

The rain didn't stop, and in fact a proper gale blew up with near horizontal rain which you can see in the picture.  I took this image as an extra as I've always loved this wonderful and quite unique original 1930s
childrens' rocking horse which sits waiting for riders in the rather glum surrounding next to the yellow MUGA, the so-called 'multi-user games area'.

It is made of metal and only has small movements but is much loved and seemingly indestructible.  I doubt that the new funding will be awarded for this park but you never know.


I've just watched tonight's programme in the BBC's 'Imagine' arts documentary slot about a wonderful theatre impresario called Michael White. I do recommend watching it if you have the chance in the next couple of weeks. I'd heard of Michael, but this was an eye-opener into the arts culture as it developed from the 1960s onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.