Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Blip in the bag

I can't remember the last time I posted my "one photo of the day" this early, but I honestly don't think I am going to do better than a four-point buck today!  Strangely, I've seen very few deer since returning to NJ last spring, so even a doe would have been blip-worthy.  A buck, however...well, that is always worth dropping whatever one is doing (in this case, walking down to get our newspaper early this morning) and grabbing a camera.  The buck was not as scared of me as he should have been (especially with hunting season looming) so I was able to get quite a few shots.  All at very high ISO because the light was so low, and all taken with the 300 lens with a 1.4 TC, for an effective range of 420mm.  No cropping, but I did do a bit of lightening in LR.  

The white-tailed deer, also known as the whitetail, is a medium-sized deer native to the United States, Canada, Mexico, Central America, and South America as far south as Peru and Bolivia.  Although it is widely distributed east of the Rocky Mountains in N. America, in the western states it has been largely replaced by black-tailed and mule deer.  Whitetail populations in our part of the US are extremely robust, and annual hunts are used to control the population.  Although I understand the need to maintain healthy herds by hunting, I do hope this young buck manages to dodge hunters this season!

A couple of other shots in Extras

Hubs and I are leaving for a weekend adventure this afternoon, so blipping and commenting over the next few days will be a bit hit-or-miss.  Hope you all have a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.