Flower With a Bonus Fuzzy-Wuzzy

We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures. ~Thornton Wilder


The pumpkins are gone from the Arboretum now, and so are most of the flowers. But there are still a few blooms here and there to make me smile. Such as this pretty golden flower I found in a planter by the children's garden.

I was enchanted, upon looking closer, to see a tiny fuzzy-wuzzy had attached itself to the flower's center. I am not sure I know what kind of seed would be that small.

The tiny treasure - this visitor, or perhaps this gift - was smaller than milkweed floof; smaller than dandelion fuzz. And there it sat, quietly, happily, tucked in the center of the flower, safe within its wild heart.

The song is Stevie Nicks with Wild Heart, the title track from the wonderful 1983 album of the same name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.