Certificates, Diplomas & Awards

I was rummaging around in drawers today, searching for something completely unrelated to this, when I was surprised to discover this little cache of papers relating to my mother.  I don't recall ever seeing them before, although I was surely the one to have put them in the drawer in the first place!

Here are her diplomas from Bedford Junior High School and Staples High School -- (with her middle name carelessly misspelled by Staples), three First Prize awards from different Flower Shows,  a World War II certificate from the Connecticut State Defense Council stating that she had satisfactorily completed the general course of study in air raid protection and special instruction in the duties of messenger, her Bachelor of Science degree from Skidmore College (class of 1949), and a photograph of my mother when she was about 18 years old.

Some relics of their paternal great grandmother that Jackson, Elliott and Nora may find of interest some day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.