Benedict is home

Benedict came home this afternoon. I timed it while the sewer workmen were on smoko so it was quiet ferrying him in his carrier from the car to home.

He's done remarkably well, given everything is new, and he's known more turmoil than stability. Here he's lying quite relaxed just under the edge of the bed. I think it was a mix of that being a cooler spot, and his hyper alertness to the neighbours over the back.

Behind him is a bit of the old sheet I use to protect the duvet from cat fur. Mum would be pleased ;-)

There was one little purr as I brushed him. He's had a few plays with me and plenty of signs of affection. I leave him for periods too, so he can find his own way at a pace that's best for him. He needs to take small steps without pressure. It must be overwhelming for him, and soon he'll discover he really has landed on his feet.

Tomorrow will be 4 weeks since I first met him. What a distance he's come. I'm confident he'll adjust quickly and well to having his own home, and all the luxuries things cats should have.

Some plonkers decided to have a fireworks session at my local park in the small hours. I know they drove there because I could hear them revving and doing other "fun" stuff. Grrr, I'm tired.

It's time to go and check on Benedict. The little kids over the back fence are squealing and I'm guessing he'll be a bit anxious. I'll take a treat up with me :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.