Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

FF20 - Flower Friday....

My first Blip with my new camera which is obviously going to take some getting used to.....I should know all of the controls as I've had the previous model of this camera for several months now but there are a few new bells and whistles I wasn't sure of.....plus it took me ages to set my other one up and get it doing what I wanted and I've forgotten where half the stuff is within the very complicated menu system.

First impressions, however, are very good...it's a wee bit bigger and heavier than my GX7 but it feels very solid...I do like the dial to adjust exposure on the top as previously it meant going into the menu system or assigning another dial function...I also like the screen folding completely over now to cover the touch screen as my GX7 didn't do this and the screen not only got very messy but also a bit scratched.

I also got a new much faster SD card with this one (the shop were very good and although they couldn't price match with a large online retailer, they did throw in this card which was worth more than the difference in price) as the GX8 has 4K video capability and needs a special fast card for this function.....I used 4K video on my FZ1000 and it's absolutely brilliant so really looking forward to trying it out on this camera too as the captured still images were very good indeed and sometimes video captures something that I'm just not quick enough to get with a still image....

It was raining again all morning so I didn't venture out with the camera as even though it's supposed to be weather-sealed I didn't want to risk getting it soaked!  This image is one of my beautiful orchids again I'm afraid...there are no flowers in the garden left so it had to be an indoor one and these orchids are gorgeous but fading fast...we do have another amaryllis blooming so I may be able to get that next time.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.