pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

The Joy of Pensions!

Began the day at 7.20 watching 2 owls hunt in the field opposite my house. It was a struggle to drag myself away, to the car, to get on with my day.

A small proportion of my work is dealing with deceased pensioner records and calculating benefits due. In the old days at Cambs CC (when they had a functioning Pensions Service with experienced and competent staff) I did a lot more deaths casework and prior to 1997 this was my work bible - the 1986 Local Government Pension Scheme Regulations - together with it's 25 year old Sellotape and amendments. Coincidentally I have needed to refer to it today and yesterday, specifically E11 for death grants. It has been good to do some pensions calculations again, as this is something I have found I miss. I wasn't the best, but maths was my favourite subject at school and it's good to get my teeth into a proper calculation now and again!

At lunch I went for a wander, but found no blip worthy photo opportunities amongst the Norwich shopping throng.

The afternoon went swiftly and the bus home was on time. I'm still enjoying being in a workplace where working beyond 5 is considered late! I left at 4.20 and was home at 5.20.

Henry was making dough when I got home. He wanted to make pizza. We found we were running out of time, as it's scouts tonight. Mollie helped him get it done a bit quicker. After a rush to eat, Jon and Henry went out in the land rover and I got my bags together for a shop at Morrisons. Unfortunately the land rover had a flat tyre, so best laid plans and all that! So I drove the boys over to scouts, went back to Morrisons with Mollie, then back to collect them at 9.15. We got home at 9.30 and I sat down with a cup of tea at 10. Tomorrow will be spent getting the tyre fixed and perhaps a browse around Holt. We love Bakers & Larners!

I'll do the relaxing tomorrow evening....now it's bedtime for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.