Softening the Edges

Dear Diary,

Photographic metaphors are the bread and butter of the contemplative photographer, well, at least for this contemplative photographer.  I love finding them in the the landscape and it is very special to find one in my own backyard front yard!

This is the brick walk to the front door and like most front doors, it is seldom used.  Everyone comes in through the porch door near the driveway.  The bricks are beginning to deteriorate, I can relate to that, and many are edged with soft green moss now and that gave me pause to contemplate my own aging.

For me, the years have soften the edges, like the gentle green moss.  I think we learn with time and experience to be less judgmental, less "edgy".  At least I have.  One of my favorite spiritual writers, Fr. Richard Rohr, calls this your "second half of life spirituality".   Things that use to bother me no longer do and I no longer feel the need for a protective armor.  When one finds oneself nearer the end than the beginning, those old ways of being just cease to be important.

“There is nothing to prove and nothing to protect. I am who I am and it's enough.”  - Father Richard Rohr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.