Fuaran na Fenne

Whenever we drive over from Spean Bridge past Loch Laggan we pass a couple of lovely wee lochans just before arriving at Newtonmore. I've often stopped to take pictures and today, as we drove up on the first day of our week at Nethy Bridge, I stopped again. One of the lochans is actually joined to the infant Spey and the other, which I believe this is, is called Fuaran na Fenne. I understand that this means the Fountain of Fenne, but I couldn't find out more than that.

I'm also puzzled about the tree, which has the appearance of a birch, complete with a small witch's broom lower right, but all the surrounding birches are tall, weeping and leafless! Next time I pass, with more time and a pair of wellies, I will investigate!

My extra picture today is of a lady waiting for a train at Aviemore, where we were also waiting for our daughter to arrive from Edinburgh to join us. This potential passenger seems rather over-decorated!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.