Autumn pond

The weather changed with a vengence this morning. I was refereeing a schools match in Rochester on top of the North Downs with a 10.00am kick off. At the top of Bluebell Hill it was snowing hard, blowing a gale and 0 deg C. Fortunately by kick off time the weather had abated a little and although it remained blustery the rain held off for most of the match.

The match was a local derby between Rochester Mathematical School and Kings College, Rochester, so there was a lot at stake for the winners. It was a good game, played in good spirit, cheered on by over 200 people. Rochester Maths ran out 32-5 winners and so continued their recent good form. I thouroughly enjoyed the game, it was fast as they're all young, under 18 boys who can run quick so you have to work hard to keep up. Too hard in my case as a dodgy calf, which has been giving me some problems, gave way, meaning although I was able to finish the match I was in some discomfort as well as having very cold extremities. Had great reports from both sets of coaches which was very pleasing.

The calf injury prevented me from walking in the afternoon so while Susan went on a solitary walk I spent some time successfully resolving an Outlook email account issue. It seems it's a common issue as I could receive emails in Outlook from the new account but couldn't send emails from Outlook as if from the new account. Four letters and a value needed to be changed in the Account Settings.

The Saturday evening dinner was Balti Butter Chicken, a recipe I hadn't done for many a year. Turned out OK despite the fact I hadn't defrosted the chicken and had no fresh corriander. I'd taken what I thought was chicken out of the freezer but it turned out to be stewed apple. Very easy to confuse the two!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.