My First Arnside Sunset

I'v been hoping for a decent sunset since we got here on Thursday, and tonight was the last chance.

I went to Leighton Moss RSPB reserve, after leaving my other half to ge the train to Preston to watch his football team play.

We couldn't reach most of the bird hides at Leighton Moss due to recent heavy rainfall causing flooding, so there wasn't too much bird activity to see. A few mallards, teals and a couple of snipe. We had a swan family swim through as well.

Later I hopped on the train to Carnforth to visit the famous station used for scenes in the David Lean film Brief Encounter.The extra shot is the famous clock, fully restored and in working order. 

As I had an hour before my train back to Arnside I visited the Heritage Centre which had lots of information about how the film scenes were shot at the station, and the career of David Lean. The actual film was running on a loop, so I sat and watched the last 20 minutes of it. I even visited the "Refreshment Room". It has been fitted out to look like the original one in the film, even though those scenes were shot in a studio.

I got back to Arnside for the sunset, so I was really pleased. Not quite as spectacular as Gladders shot, but the same sunset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.