Thunder and Lightning!

Well, I knew that I was being brow beaten to get  into the festive spirit the moment I saw Donner and Blitzen alongside my Saturday cappuccino at the suoermarket.
And it is still only November.  I can live with the pre-Christmas push to encourage us to fill our stockings with Christmas goodies in the 24 days leading up the festive celebration, but I am afraid that I adopt a jaundiced view about having Christmas pushed to me weeks before the day.
It was back in early August that I first saw Christmas goodies on sale in the shops, so I suppose I shouldn’t have been surprised to find every supermarket I visited today packed out with cards, decorations, trees and all manner of other paraphernalia to encourage me to dip into my pocket to ensure that I make it a jolly Christmas.
I am by no means a killjoy when it comes to Christmas celebrations, and I suppose I am still a little kid at heart, even in my much more matured years, when it comes to enjoying the day, be it with family, friends, or even on our own.
So today I was ready to accept the fact that my coffee cup was adorned with Christmas decoration, but I am not so sure that I needed the cut-out table-top reindeer, as cute as they were, to remind me that there are only 33 shopping days left before the celebration.

Donner and Blitzen?  No wait a moment, one of them had a red nose.  Must have been Rudolph!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.