Lemon Zest

Today I thought it was about time I began thinking of Christmas which is now little more than a month away.
So I splashed out on my first stocking-filler pressie for my wife — a bottle of Italian lemon liqueur from Italy.
Problem is that it is extremely unlikely to make it to Christmas.  Yes, she has a soft spot, or rather palate, for the lemon looking, and flavoursome drink.
She first supped it when we were in Italy, introduced to an intimate family run restaurant in the historic city of Treviglio, just a few miles from Milan. We were introduced to Lo Scoglio by our daughter Michelle and husband Rosario, and it has become a regular haunt whenever we are visiting the family.
But what is it called? Limoncello or limoncino? Apparently, it rather depends which part of Italy you are in. Either way it is produced from the zest of lemons, and produced mainly in the area around the bay of Naples, with Sorrento lemons.
I am assured it is best after a meal with, or instead of dessert, and needs to be chilled.
At Lo Scoglio, my wife doesn’t even have to ask for it; she is now offered it as a matter of course.

Back home, there is little chance that my stocking-filler thought will ever get as far as the stocking, even at 30 per cent alcoholic volume . . . maybe not even to December!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.