Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Homage to music on St Cecilia's Day

Today is the day of St. Cecilia, patron saint of musicians, who have brought so much pleasure into my life - classical, jazz, pop and popular, rock, musicals, folk and almost any other genre you can think off if it is music. Living in the metropolitan borough of Bradford (not the city thankfully) it is also apt to remember all the young women who have been forced into unwanted marriage, as was today's saint.

I'm no musician though I attempt sometimes to play the piano and have sung with the Harrogate Choral Society; my most noteworthy (notorious?) contribution was probably playing ukulele and washboard in a skiffle group - of course you're not old enough to remember skiffle ;-).

Here's a few of the musical instruments and a little of the music which surrounds me at home. I don't wander about with plugs in my ears but otherwise I'm rarely without it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.