Mom and the Magnificent Seven

I took 2 different kayak trips today. To beat the heat...I was up at 7:30, and on the river at 8.

My plan was to go upriver to within a half mile of my house, and then return. That was before I "beached out" on the first of many sandbars. It gave me a cheap thrill. Like getting stuck in snow or mud. I think I made 2 errors. 1. Should have taken the lighter kayak. 2. Should have left my good camera home. The ride made me nervous.

The highlight of the river run was seeing a beaver. He swam within 15 feet of me with a mouthful of breakfast. Then, he gave me the eye, and swam underwater...to within 2-3 feet of my boat. Loved the view of the flat tail.

After not being able to get past the 6th sandbar, I left the river and went to the state park. I was in search of me some swan. Large piece of breast meat...tastes like chicken...you know the bird.

They didn't disappoint. There are 8 cygnets. 1 was straggling, so he didn't get in the picture.

My best shot of the day is on my flickr page, but I think people are getting tired of mating dragonflies. Oooohhhh, but these 2 were pretty. Also on the page are a new bird for me...an Eastern Kingbird, a bee on a water plant, and obstacles on the river.

Hope everybody has a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.