"Let's Jam "Er Up...Kids"

When we go out west to places like Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks...a parked car usually means one thing.

"THEY'RE SEEING SOMETHING! GET UP THERE!" We call it a Yellowstone traffic jam.

You surge ahead...roll down the window...and you ask the first person you encounter. "What is it?"

If you're lucky...you get back..."It's a moose", "It's an antelope", "It's an elk", or the best..."It's a grizzly...and he's eating something!!!"

If you're unlucky...the return is..."It's a prairie dog." You roll down the window,and get serenaded with a "EEEEE_EEEEEE!!!"

Everybody has a great, and sometimes dangerous time...until Ranger Brian shows up, megaphones you back into your cars, and moves you along.

The goose crossing is not a traffic jam, although my other picture had 5 cars backed up. I took it through the window, and it was no good.

There looks to be 2 sets of parents. Whoever the leader was should be fired. It was across the busy road...back again...cross again...walk the shoulder...then back again. He/she then hung his head in the tall reeds...as well he/she should. "MAKE UP YOUR MIND."

On my flickr page...I've posted some animals that created "Yellowstone" traffic jams, although the burros, prairie dog, and the buffalo are from Custer State Park in South Dakota. They are from a trip taken last September. Hope you enjoy them as much as me, my dad, and 2 sisters did.

Click to the right for one of my favorite shots from a year ago. Mama blackbird telling me who's da boss. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.