BVFL33

By BVFL33

The Derelict Listening Station On Teufelsberg .

On this grey , cold day I opted to take my bike and ride to the foot of Drachenberg ( a 99m Trümmerberg here in Berlin) Then ride and push it up Teufelsberg another such 'mountain' created out of 12million cubic metres of war rubble .It was extremely cold but as I arrived at the base the sun came out and the sky was vivid blue .Then came the big one TBerg as I call it. It seemed to go on for ever . Eventually I got there .Photographically a bad choice since it has been fenced and then fenced again by squatters who have gone on to  trash their caravans and motorbikes . See extra Treble dereliction? I would have gone on further  round but hail and snow began.Normally not an issue but with a steep bike ride down a skid was best avoided..It proved a wise choice.Outside is snow .
For those who like history here is a link to this grim place ,
http://www.abandonedberlin.com/2015/01/teufelsberg-nsa-spy-field-station-berlin.html
I used to see this from my 1st apartment in Berlin.It was functioning then and gave me the creeps .Much prefer the Funkturm where I now live ....Here is a clip from a Solstice filmed up Teufelsberg ,, Great views all round .Super atmosphere ,https://youtu.be/f9nhvw_fHiA
Not sure who is hosting the challenge but thanks :))Also do have questions .Is it no longer important to take the photo on the day of the challenge . Can one pre post ? I see it seems to be the case ... Guidance  please .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.