Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Lesser Redpoll

It's been a rollercoaster of a week, one way and another, and I have to admit that I hope next week is altogether more ordinary!

We had our first proper taste of winter today, with a marked frost this morning. I went for a walk round Holme Fen, and remembered how very much I love cold, crispy mornings that make your nose and fingers tingle. The sun shone continuously, and I was lucky enough to find one corner of the site filled with the chattering of a huge mixed flock of foraging finches and tits - including large numbers of lesser redpoll, siskin and goldcrest, as well as the more usual goldfinch, blue tit, great tit and long-tailed tit. This redpoll allowed me to approach quite close, probably because it was so engrossed in gathering seed from this mugwort plant!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.