"If I Fits, I Sits!" (Dexter Gets a New Box!)

It was 8:50 a.m. on Sunday morning, and I was standing at the stove, making apple and cinnamon pancakes, when my husband asked, "Is that someone in the drive way?" And indeed it was! First thing on a Sunday morning, and the U.S. postal service was delivering our amazon.com package!

Last weekend, we placed an amazon order for a new winter boot for me: the Columbia Women's Bugaboot Snow Boot. Alas, the sole on my prior favorite winter boot, the Rocky Snowstalker, had disintegrated last winter, leaving me high and dry. (Or, well, perhaps NOT so dry, as a cracked sole is a sole that leaks.)

You all know me by now, and how I am: no matter what the weather map or the thermometer says, I can be found outside, having grand adventures and taking pictures. And so it is not an option for me to be without a good winter boot. Thank goodness, that's no longer a problem!

For at 8:50 a.m., we looked out and THERE was the package on our front porch. My husband went out and retrieved it. And by 8:54, the box was open, courtesy of my husband, and it was instantly being inspected by Tabby Inspector #1. By 8:58, the box was empty and down on the floor, and the scene was as you see it in this photo: cat claims box!

A brand new box! Dexter just couldn't believe his good fortune! Bib and big white paws gleaming, he sat in that box, smiling like he OWNED it. Which - well, I guess he does! Methinks we my have to cut a window in it and turn the box into a cat-fort. These are exciting times; it isn't every day that one gets a new box!

The song to accompany this image is a happy, bouncing 80s tune. The song and video seem sort of like a cross between Duran Duran (Hungry Like the Wolf) and David Bowie (Let's Dance). Here's Corey Hart - whom you may know better for Sunglasses At Night, and the tune Never Surrender - with Boy in the Box.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.