The Way I See Things

By JDO

Another fieldfare

I had an idea for today's Mono Monday theme, which involved R riding past me on a bicycle, wearing a silly hat and holding up an umbrella. But when I suggested this to him, the lack of enthusiasm in his response was almost deafening. You just can't get the staff.

Then I became embroiled in the construction of a gallery page on my web site, which was less complicated than I had expected, but more time-consuming than I needed it to be. Several hours slid past while I was buried in the computer and not keeping an eye on them.

I suddenly noticed that it was the middle of the afternoon and the light was fading fast, and as yet no photo had been taken. Luckily at that moment I saw a fieldfare in the rowan tree in the front garden - we'd first seen it earlier in the day, but it had spotted me when I went to the window with the camera, and had flown away. This time I managed a few shots before it realised it was being watched. Do look at this full-screen, if you have time - it's much better against the dark background.

We almost took down this scrubby rowan tree back in the spring, but reprieved it because bullfinches are fond of the berries. I haven't seen any bullfinches so far this autumn, but the presence of a fieldfare is enough to make me happy that we left the tree in place.

A reminder that tomorrow is Tiny Tuesday, if you'd like to play: the tags for your macro and close-up shots are tinytuesday, and either tinytuesday26 or tt26. I'll be giving out hearts on Wednesday or Thursday to my five favourite images of the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.