The Way I See Things

By JDO

Edstone Aqueduct

I was in the worst mood this morning: miserable and grumpy, carping about everything, and basically a pain for myself and everyone else to have to live with. Even the dogs were giving me a wide berth.

Instead of telling me to pull myself together, CH decided that this situation was best dealt with by taking me out to lunch and then helping me find a new subject to blip. As our friend Katia pointed out yesterday, he is starting to look like a keeper.

So... to Stratford for lunch at Vintner, and then on to Bearley to take a look at the Edstone Aqueduct - which I had never heard of until seeing it in Technophobe's journal recently, despite the fact that we've lived in the area for over 20 years. One of the things I love about this site is how much I learn from people's journals!

The Edstone Aqueduct was opened in 1816 (think about that - the year after the Battle of Waterloo!) and at 145 metres is the longest canal aqueduct in England. It's constructed of iron and the towpath is at the level of the base of the canal - which as a pedestrian must be rather odd when boats pass you at head level, but this afternoon there were none going through. CH earned yet more gold stars for the day by spotting this reflection before I did; he gets to be Milk Monitor next week.

I found it very difficult to choose between this view and the landscape version, but after consulting the Milk Monitor went with this because it's so unlike most of the pics I take. Oh, and he just brought me Winter Pimms.... I might have to let him take the register too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.