The Way I See Things

By JDO

Cloud rainbow

I took various shots in Stratford this morning with a view to entering the MonoMonday challenge, but didn't like any of them much and was planning one last attempt when CH and I arrived home...

But then, as we were about to go down Tower Hill into Bidford, I suddenly spotted a cloud rainbow - the first time I have ever actually seen one. CH pulled into a field entrance so I could leap out and get this shot - his reaction times to me squawking about a photo opportunity are becoming lightning-fast these days!

Cloud rainbows (more properly called cloud irridescence) are apparently a relatively rare phenomenon: here is a Wiki piece, if you're interested. And I've uploaded four more shots taken from the recreation ground in Bidford here, just to prove the first one wasn't a fluke! I've only just started using Flickr though, so that link may not work - if not I'd be glad if someone would let me know. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.