snapped by a curious mind

By iphigenie

Making biscuits

Today I made the dough for some raisin butter biscuits. This is an old recipe from a swiss magazine from before I was born, and one of my favorites.

I made a double batch as I know they are always a success. So simple and yet very tasty. I will put them in the freezer until Christmas.

I translated the recipe and posted it on forkd, but I will be nice and put it in the blip too. Might get me some attention, and with some recent blips having attracted no comment I could use the attention :D

The blip image is the wooden spoon I mixed everything with (arm aches!) before I licked it clean.

Want the recipe? Let me first inflict on you an advertising break, then I will give you the recipe

-----------------------------------------------------------

BLIPS YOU MIGHT HAVE MISSED:

testing the pattern (crochet)
All dried up (a plant bit)
the puddle (leaves under water, i am pleased with this one)
leaf day (just leaves, but in subdued colors instead of the usual supersaturated option)

-----------------------------------------------------------

RECIPE:Swiss butter raisin cookies
From Annabelle, 1970s
Ingredients
Makes 12 servings
250g butter, soft
250g sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp salt (if unsalted butter!)
Zest of a lemon
500g flour
raisin variant
rum
150g raisins

Preparation

soak the raisins in rum or rum and warm water for 30 minutes
work the butter until is is creamy (it turns white and starts having a whipped texture). This is tiring work but needed for the biscuits to have the right texture

add sugar and mix thoroughly

add the 2 eggs mixed with the salt and the lemon zest

gradually add the flour and the drained raisins, knead it all together well

Roll the dough in long sausages, wrap in foil or plastic wrap, and put in the fridge to set, at least 30 minutes, preferable an hour or even overnight.

Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius

Cut the rolls in 1/2cm slices, put the slices on a baking tray

bake for 20 minutes until golden

Note: these freeze well in plastic containers - we made them in november then froze them till christmas where we would give them as gifts

Variants:

The same base without raisins can be rolled and cut in cookie shapes and glazed.
We have also done it with orange zest and candied orange, and an orange juice frosting. Very nice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.