Original bach

When I was little I remember Orewa as a seaside village we passed though on our way north, or visited for a picnic. There were few permanent residents and mostly baches. In those days it took 1 hour to drive from Auckland to Orewa.

These days Mum and Dad live there and the opposite applies. It's now part of the Auckland super-city, it's built up with mostly permanent residents and a minority of baches. Holiday homes is a more accurate description for the grander specimens these days. Few of these original baches remain. For all of that Orewa retains its laid back seaside feel.

This is a cracker of an original bach, one block back from the beach on a huge section with two large Pohutukawa trees. I wryly note the sky dish, the only visible sign of a more modern holiday existance.

I took Mum for a walk along the beach this afternoon and then to the supermarket, (my least favourite activity after accidentally poking myself in the eye). Blue cod is on the menu tonight, with wild pork in the slow cooker for tomorrow night. We'll eat well.

I'm starting to get a feel for what things might need my attention over the next week. But before any of that I think a gin and tonic is required ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.