Flash loos 2

Orewa has an eclectic mix of architecture. Despite being an extension of Auckland it retains a village feel. This won't last forever as greedy developers eye prime waterfront land for monstorous high rise apartments and seek to create a smaller Gold Coast. Sometimes people fail to grasp the intrinsic value and appeal already there.

The one monstrosity built (which I can't bring myself to blip), continues to struggle to gain full occupancy either for retail or apartment living.

There is a message in that as it's failed whatever point the economic cycle has been in. A monstrosity built despite breaking planning laws while the government appointed commissioner, Doug Armstrong was in charge of a then dysfunctional Rodney District Council. Don't get me started on nepotism and cronyism.

These flash loos are a vast improvement on the old seedy looking concrete ones they replaced. They may have been original but unlike yesterday's blips of an original bach, they lacked any charm whatsoever.

The new loos and changing area don't have that funny smell common to seaside public loos, are spacious, light and functional. The angles and lines evoke a pacific feel and connection.

That's a point of difference between the south where I live and the north where I come from. The north looks outward to the pacific while the south looks inward to the mountains.

Despite being on the same coast with the same Pacific Ocean, there is no cultural connection with the pacific in the south. That northern pacific connection reflects the sub tropical climate and influence of the many pacific cultures that now call Auckland home.

The afternoon was sunny and warmish, just right for ice creams in cones looking across to the beach. It's still a novelty to me to go outside without a hat, scarf and heavy duty down jacket on. Not that I'm complaining. But on the other hand I live in a part of New Zealand where the seasons are definite and distinct. I like that too.

One odd thing I'm noticing is more pain in the joints in my hands that have the start of arthritis. That seems odd. If anything I'd have thought cold would be an issue, but I've had little pain lately until I came north. Maybe it's unrelated or maybe it's the damper climate they don't like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.