Not as planned

The plan was to show you a grand vista of the Canterbury High Country on a perfect day. But I have car troubles so that didn't happen.

Yes, you picked right that I've waited weeks for a day like today to get out into the hills with crampons and ice axe. My car battery was flat and something is drawing off a heap of charge. I'm still waiting to hear back from a guy who is going to look at it today. No point stressing over something I can't control so I'm not.

It got me thinking about Mum. I'm amazed of her attitude and adaptability. She isn't as well as she was and sometimes she tells me "I don't do such and such anymore..." or "I can't do such and such anymore...".

But she never complains and seems to have a remarkable ability to adapt and see the best in what she has got. Thinking about that made my chin quiver a bit and it and wasn't from the cold outside the auto electricians.

I've pottered around home doing washing, sorting, starting to pack, catching up with neighbours etc. All the time thinking of the way Mum lives her life.

I've noticed the sun, still looked at the mountains (a little wistfully ;-), appreciated the little things around home and yes, still had a good day. Sure, if I'd gone on the planned trip I'd be grinning from ear to ear and it would have been great.

But no one died, I'm in one piece, the car will get fixed and I'll still get to the airport on Monday morning. And the mountains will still be there when I get back.

I did have a bit of fun hanging off my balcony to get this self portrait with the blue sky behind ;-) Just to show you Mum, I do have a helmet for the mountains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.