'Tis the Season

Nearly fifty years ago I moved here in November from the east coast and its abundant stunning color. This new town was so dull and brown. I felt like something crucial had been torn out of me. Fall had always been my favorite--crisp air, bright color, fragrant apple cider, and that electric charge in the air, that feeling of something special just around the corner. I mourned that loss for years, savoring an occasional trip to the foothills to see a bit of red and gold. But a funny thing has happened around here--over the years there is more and more color! Many streets have brilliant canopies, there are scarlet trees right on our own block, and I can't figure out if the town has planted more trees, or if they were here all along and I've simply grown to appreciate what I have instead of wishing for what I've lost.

Does anybody know the name of this tree?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.