Lillo and Gerry

My wonderful friend Emma came over at 8.45 and picked me and my Brother Tom up and we went to collect Lillo from the Nursing home, although I had requested that she be ready at 9 she wasn't and we finally left at 10.25... (I was very disappointed by this) we arrived at Worthing hospital at 1pm after a stop for the loo and and lunch on the M25.
I only told Lillo today that we were going and called the Hospital to tell Gerry once we were on our way as I didn't want to worry them.

It was great to see them re-united after 2 and a half months of not seeing one another, Gerry said 'I've missed you', they sat side by side and held hands for two and a half hours, we went to the cafe and left them to it other than to come back half way through and take her to the toilet.
Gerry said he was sad when we had to go and Emma said she will bring us back and that cheered him up.

I made a playlist for the car with some of Mother's favourite artists and songs including Mandy by Barry Manilow, Don't it make my brown eyes blue by Crystal Gayle, Easy by the Commodores, 10cc, the Beatles, Eartha Kitt etc... so that made the journey easier.

We beat the rush hour, dropped Tom at the station and took my Mum back to the home, I was pleased to see that she was happy to go back, she seemed uplifted by having seen Gerry and having been out and we left her with a sherry watching TV and waiting for her sandwiches.

I made sure the staff knew what had happened today, I've noticed that my Mum's reactions can be quite delayed so it was important to me that they would be looking out for her that little bit more tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.