Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

EIGG DAY THREE

We are staying in the Glebe Barn, along with a party of archeologists who are looking for a 7th century monastry at Kildonan. They are a wonderfully cheery bunch, in spite of spending most of their day kneeling in the mud. They invited us to visit their dig this morning where they showed us around in driving rain, pointing out post holes and cists.

Our party split this afternoon and I walked to Laig to explore the coastline between there and the Singing Sands. I have some lovely images of rock pools, cliffs and the weird concretions, but it was these ringed plovers that stole the show, working along the wee cliff behind me, scolding me for daring to come so near their nest. I withdrew, and that is my excuse for not having a jaw dropping image of the famous mushroom concretion.

Bck to the Galmisdale Cafe this evening. The chef had sent his dad out earlier in the day to catch a couple of lobsters for us. He served a lip smacking lobster salad where the only ingredient not to come from Eigg was the lemon.

THREE GOOD THINGS
Walking: 'If you walk hard enough, you probably don't need any other god.' Bruce Chatwin
Concretions: It takes 3 million years to grow one 50 cm in diameter. It slows down my mind to think of that.
Lichen, lichen and more lichen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.