St Etheldreda's Chapel

in the magnificent Ely Cathedral.

A wet day in the Fenlands.  We caught the train to Ely and went on a guided tour of the Cathedral.  A huge and magnificent structure.
After lunch we visited Oliver Cromwell's house.  His family home for 10 years.  Well worth the visit to learn more about him and the Cvil War.  You are prompted to make a decision at the end of the audio tour as to whether you consider him to have been a villain or a hero.   I admit I changed my mind several times as I took in various details.  As I write this I still can't make up my mind.
Changing the subject;  Did you know that carrots in Cromwell's time were white or purple?     I never knew that.  Apparently they only became orange when Dutch growers developed them in honour of the House of Orange - Nassau in Holland.

We might have explored the little city further had it not been such a wet afternoon AND that there was a problem with the water supply to the city, ironically, so all the cafes and eateries and public loos had to close... yikes.  Thankfully the large supermarket next to the station had operational conveniences as I'm not certain I could have kept my legs crossed for much longer.

Fire and tipple order of the day again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.