Waterland

11 mile walk from Downham Market to King's Lynn along the banks of the Great Ouse.   A much sunnier, brighter day but a brisk wind.      
I lost one of my gloves on the way, very annoying.
I nearly broke my neck when I slipped on a wet stile.  How I kept upright I've no idea, my legs were sliding about all over the place.   That made my heart race, I can tell you.
Had we walked 20 yards further round a bend we would have found the one and only bench on route where we could have sat and eaten our sandwiches out of the wind AND I might not have put my day pack down in a clump of fresh sheep poo.  That was also annoying but we did laugh.
We had hoped to take a lunch break at one of the pubs on the way but all had  the most terrible reviews; dog hairs in the burgers, 1hr 30 min wait to be served, rude staff etc etc.   Hence the necessity for taking a packed lunch.
Had a look round King's Lynn, mainly looking for some new gloves for me - no joy.  Then we caught the train back to Downham Market.
Having said all that we really have enjoyed our day.    
My legs ache so I will be putting them up in front of a roaring fire later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.