Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Track cleaning train

Today I ran my track cleaning train.  I actually have another car that goes behind this brass one, with a mini vacuum but it needs a decoder - another project.  Anyway this little jewel of a car is filled with 91% alcohol.  You adjust the drip with the center knob, and drive it around your track.  The little pad underneath gets wet and cleans the track.  Then the alcohol evaporates.   I have tried many many track cleaning cars, but finally bought this one.  I have known about it for years but waited as it is not cheap - good stuff never is is it?  Anyway, it is everything it claims to be.  Wonderful little tool.  Being of brass, it weighs a bunch so the six axle diesel is a must.

If you are interested, check it out at:

http://fiferhobbysu770.corecommerce.com/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=16261

Finally I need to re-clean the staging tracks as they seem to be very dirty.  Then more train running.  So far no problems other than dirty track and turnouts (before I ran the cleaning train).  As you probably know, clean track with DCC and especially DCC with sound is most important to save one's sanity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.