Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

11 more turnouts

I changed my priorities somewhat on the N scale layout.  I decided to finish all of the track now - complete with wiring.  This will allow me to then paint the rails and ties with my air brush, then finish the sculptamold and rocks, then paint the base color on the sculptamold and flat areas, and finally install the photo backdrops.  I might ballast at least the area between the rails as well, leaving the sides to be ballasted after the scenery is more complete.  I hate the blue but this will allow more switching and running while I work.

The turnouts (switches) are just sitting in their openings for now - still have to add switch motors etc.  One thing this change does mean is that I need to be mindful of the industries I am planning so that the track alignments are correct for the buildings. The B/W copy at the right is a plan of a large stock yard and meat packing facility. Odd thing to add for a vegetarian I guess, but I like the stock cars and the buildings.  I promise that the model cows will be totally organic.  The tentative name of the meat packer is the Alfred Packer Meat Plant.  Mr Packer is famous in Colorado as he ate several of his hiking companions during a blizzard, to survive.  So, of course the motto of the facility will be "Have a friend for dinner".  For those of you interested in more about Mr. Packer, see:

 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alferd_Packer

This batch of turnouts leaves only 14 to go.

It will be sad if BlipPhoto closes, and I might continue on with my own web page or perhaps Flickr with train layout progress.  Time will tell I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.