Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Made the DCC step with the Sn3

Just installed an NCE PowerCab system on my Sn3 layout.  Sold the PBL sound system which was truly groundbreaking when it came out, but frankly, I wanted to go DCC Sound for the railroad.  And, like computers, the PBL system was showing it's age and technology. Just don't ask if I got my money out - do we ever when we upgrade computers and sell the old one.  Like buying a iPhone 6s for $750 and trading in my 5S for $150. 

Since I will only be running two locos at a time max, the PowerCab system fits the bill perfectly.  And, since I use NCE n the N scale layout I already know how everything works.

The NCE install was simple.  I have sent two locos off to get tsunami DCC sound chips installed, including new LEDs for all the lights.  Not inexpensive but I feel under qualified to do it myself and this way I know it is done right.  Opening up a $1800 model gives me the willies.  I will post once I get a loco back and running.  It is a new day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.