Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Replacement switch, more roadbed

Today I received the replacement "medium" turnout to replace the "short" turnout I had mistakenly installed.  A little hairy in that the switch was a tight fit, and I already had the switch motor installed.  But it went together like it was planned - almost - and this allowed me to finish almost all of the cork track roadbed for that portion.  I still have one siding that bends off to the right above the paper pinned to the board.  Had to stop as I ran out of "T" pins to hold the roadbed while it dried.

The paper there at the right is a plan for the Alfred Packer Meat Packing plant.  It is very specific as to track spacing so I made an exact copy of the plan to make sure my roadbed and thus the track was exact.  Have to be able to pull in the stock cars to unload the cattle at the chutes, and also a short siding for loading refrigerator cars with processed meat.  I could have waited until I made the model, but I like to get all the track down, then wired, then test run the crap out of it before going to scenery.

One comment - most yards lay their track without the normal mainline roadbed profile.  But I like to use roadbed through out for sound control and flatness.  It does make me build up the foundation of the buildings 1/8" to match the railcar doors, but this allows me to blend the foundation into the scenery.

Boy am I sick of blue.  Soon, Soon......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.