stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Grounded

Today finally saw me ascend the Eureka Skydeck. Jason and I headed back into town again this morning to allow me to finally get to the top of the Melbourne skyline and it was worth the wait. Stunning views across the city in all directions. I could trace the path I'd followed from St. Kilda to Port Phillip when I walked the solar system the other day. Looked a long way from way up there. My extra shot today is the view pointing north over the Melbourne Arts Centre spire, through the Queen Victoria Gardens and Memorial, across the Yarra and on to the Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, home of the three-peat champion Hawthorn Hawks! :-)

Then it was on to Williamstown for a wander and lunch. It was a busy day. What we originally thought was the farmers market turned out to be a Macedon festival with traditional dancing and lots and lots of food stalls. Jason and I plumped for a more traditional fish and chips though at the harbour, in sight of the HMAS Castlemaine, a WWII veteran Bathurst-class corvette commissioned in 1942. The Sea Shepherd was also in town, drumming up support. The marine conservation group's direct action tactics don't go down well with everyone though with Greenpeace and the Australian and New Zealand governments all critical of the aggressive use of the boat to prevent hunting.

As we wandered back to the car we spotted the time ball around from the harbour. Diverting our path to take a closer look we came upon a grounded cruiser. With divers in the water on both sides, another boat was trying to pull it free but it all came to nothing. As smoke poured from the towing boat, there was simply no movement at all from the grounded vessel. That boat was going nowhere until the tide came in. The commotion did garner some interest from passers by but for others it seemed to be just another day. On our way back J had to make an emergency stop as he wasn't feeling so good. No sooner had he come to a halt and opened the drivers door... Temporarily refreshed he made it home but felt icky for the rest of the day. A couple of power naps seemed to help though.

One thing I haven't mentioned so far is how wonderfully I've been fed over the past week. Both Jason and Mun are wizards in the kitchen but especially Mun. I've had some of the best home cooked dinners ever (sorry mum - your lentil soup is still unmatched)! ;-)

All too soon though it was time to head back into town. I booked into the airport hotel for my last night in Melbourne so I could pour myself onto the plane in the morning and not have to worry about the rush hour traffic when returning the car. Thanks so much Jason, Mun, Dylan and Bella. I had the most wonderful stay with you. Your generosity and welcome into your home was very special.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.