Skyview, Arboretum

Only from the heart can you touch the sky. ~Rumi

There are few things I enjoy in life more than standing at the edges of things in the morning and watching the sky.

We had some of our first fat flurries on this morning. I think this was only the second set of flurries I've seen. They didn't amount to much; in fact, they were done before I even got to work.

But when the snow clouds began to clear out, well, what a sky show! I had to stop at the Arboretum to check things out, and just as the sky began to clear, I made my way to the little walkway over the marsh.

The marsh meadow boardwalk was a gift of the class of 2010, and I am so grateful for it. It is the best place to stand to watch the clearing clouds.

There's even a little bench along the left, though I admit I've seldom sat on it. (As is the case with most benches: I guess I'm just not much of a sitter.)

I finished my undergrad degree at Penn State in 1986, and our class gift was elm trees for the mall below the Libraries. And I am thrilled to have participated in that; as you know, I am a great lover of trees! (The best time to plant a tree, they say, was 20 years ago. The second best time is NOW.)

But I like this gift too, and I enjoy it almost every time I visit. This boardwalk over the pretty little golden marsh. This shining walkway in the sun. This great big vista with its neverending view of the sky . . .

The song to accompany this image had to be about the sky. So here is Mary Chapin Carpenter, with Holding Up the Sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.