The Thanksgiving Pie

"If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe." - Carl Sagan.

Happy Thanksgiving! May you have lots of blessings, and many, MANY reasons to be thankful!

It's Thanksgiving time in the U.S., but my husband and I did a nontraditional version of it on this day. Our family visit will occur on Friday, but we had no plans whatsoever for Thursday. So Wednesday night, I brought us home a couple of very nice pizzas, and we spent the next day or so eating pizza and catching up on TV shows and movies.

My only really critical task on this day was to make an apple pie from scratch, as the relative whom we will be visiting Friday (for something different, we're doing a seafood feast this year) is a big fan of my pies. In fact, she has threatened that I won't even be allowed in the front door without one. Those are harsh words!!!!

Thankfully, I was up to the task. So on Thanksgiving morning, I made an apple pie. The recipe is the standard one in Better Homes and Gardens new cookbook. It doesn't call for brown sugar, but I always like to add some.

The soundtrack: the Rolling Stones, with Brown Sugar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.