The Thanksgiving Pumpkin Pie

Dear Diary,

Elaine and I made the pumpkin pie this morning. (She and her husband Brad flew in from Minnesota yesterday afternoon)  I am very, very fussy about my pie.  No soggy crust for me and the filling must be smooth as velvet.  The secret is to bake the pie shell and the filling separately and then fill the warm shell with the filling then cook the filled pie for 15 minutes at 400 F and then 30 minutes at 300F.  This assures a velvety texture.

The extra photograph is of Elaine chopping up the almonds for a dusting around the edge.  I used the pumpkin pie spice I got at the Shaker Village and local maple syrup.  I also add sweet potatoes to my pumpkin for extra richness.  It is all worth it as this pie is to die for!

The photograph above is full of memories too.  The crocheted tablecloth my grandmother made, the little corn husk doll I made with my students one year and the small orange carnival class cups holding the mini pumpkins are from my dear auntie Doris's collection and the little pumpkins I got at the family farm in Dutchess County, NY in September!  Thanksgiving is a time for memories, family and friends.  Now, back to the kitchen!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.