Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Cosmic Cavern

by Kenny Scharf.  I was at the Portland Art Museum today primarily to see the Paige Powell exhibition but it was not functioning, it was pretty bizarre, I walked into the gallery space which was partially lit to see a guy on a ladder hassling with a projector - this was not part of the show - so I'll go back and see it another time!  On the same floor was this wonderment pictured above by Kenny Scharf that Kendall had recommended checking out.  From the outside it looks like a big wooden crate and there are some plastic toys strewn about the floor around it, I could hear Blondie playing from inside, I made my way through the black curtains that make the entrance into the Cosmic Cavern.  I had the whole space to myself which was fab.  I need a room like this at home.  :-)

There was a nice exhibition called Seeing Nature, some of the pieces I'd seen in other exhibitions elsewhere but there were some new paintings, a couple I really liked and wished the museum had postcards of them (an ongoing grumble I have re postcards here).  I also spent some time looking at a beautiful black and white photography show including some Ansel Adams photographs that I always love to see. 

Some extras of the Kenny Scharf Cosmic Cavern and some other PAM pix from my wanderings around the museum.  Parts of the museum were really busy and in others I had the whole place to myself.  Oh, and a reader on SW 5th.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.