Photo Journey

By notabit

Apple Pie and Happy Thanksgiving!

These apples are destined for a true American apple pie. Yes, today is Thanksgiving. I have continued to celebrate it since I left the United States 53 (!) years ago.

In the 60's it wasn't so easy to rustle up a turkey or pumpkin but I had  friends at the Amercian PX (military post exchange) and was supplied. Since Thanksgiving is always on a Thursday and isn't a holiday here in Germany, I celebrate when people have time, sometimes a week earlier, sometimes later, sometimes twice.

I'll be making a turkey this Saturday for good friends, perhaps not with all the trimmings as that's a lot of work. A week later I'll be making another turkey for family, this time with ALL the trimmings. They know the difference. And my son can bake the pies - apple and pumpkin. He's carrying on the tradition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.