OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Grey Seal Pup

I went over to South Walls on Hoy for a walk around Cantick Head and to se if there were any grey seal pups. Obviously, there were, but at first I thought I'd left it too late- there were none in the first few geos (coves)I looked in. But then there was a group of five, nearly all with their mothers. Most were in white but some had already started moulting into their dark, sea-proof coat. A few more pups along the next bit of coast too I cut across the Hill of the White Hamars and down to the village of Longhope, then along to the causeway where I meant to get the community bus back to the pier at Lyness. I was surprised to find this pup very close to the road- and it was quite surprised to meet me too. More shots here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/octobermoth/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.