OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Geese at Marwick

I went up to the hide at The Loons. As I walked toward the hide I could see a hen harrier quartering the reeds. A woodcock flushed from the marsh and flew up the hill. It landed and realised I could still see it so flew another few metres into the garden of a farmhouse.  From the hide I could see a flock of golden plover of 1000 or more birds, but distantly. I headed down to Marwick. The waves there were pretty big and it began to rain hard so I walked along the shore to the shelter of the stone fishermans huts where I made coffee. The rain stopped so I went back along to The Choin and up the path over Marwick Head, a flock of 17 snow buntings there, then down to the village. More shots here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/octobermoth/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.