Flower Friday - Crucifix Orchid

As promised here is the other orchid I was introduced to last Tuesday.  I had to go to the Park today for a spot of weeding, and we were very close to this particular orchid.  There are two forms apparently, this is the green one, and the other, much more spectacular, is a red form.  It is the very aptly named Crucifix Orchid (Orthoceras strictum)  The flower spike is maybe 12 cms high, with three or four of these flowers along the top one third of it.  It's individual flower are small, as in all our terrestrials.

It was a truly gorgeous day today - the good news is that the horrendous fires north of Adelaide were 75% under control this morning.  One of my fellow weeders brought the whole thing into perspective for me.  Our Belair NP is a tad over 2,000 acres.  The fire ground north of Adelaide is five times that size.  That's massive.

The other good news is that our garden rubbish skip is just about full.  I don't think we can get much more in it.  And as Mish says in her journal, we are all pretty well worn out.  Mish has gone to bed already, and I think me and him will be joining her by 9pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.