THE PONY

we met at our walk.
Yesterday night, when I really felt tired, Piet Hein asked me if I wanted to do one dance with him. A nice question and a bit of a surprise, because I often have reproached him to neglect my love of dancing. Himself not so much into it. I accepted and on my question what shall we dance, he wanted me to choose. So I stood at our LP row and asked will it be better a waltz, a tango, or... and I alreay had catched the record... a honky tonk dance?
This record of Winifred Atwell, queen of Honky Tonk, I probably got out the legacy of my father.
We had a lot of fun dancing!  I perhaps a bit more than PH.
Now I wanted to find out what exactly honky tonk is. I learned is was popular in the 1950 and 1960. The music is played on an out of tune piano, and was used to accompany slapstick films.
Today the weather was very cold, but in the afternoon the sun shone brilliantly, so we went for a walk. We climbed the hill towards the Forellenhof and descended the plain from there.
While descending it was obvious that the sun would soon disappear behind the hills at the other side of the valley. And we had still a long way to go.
I could not help it that I had a dip almost all day long. Moet kunnen *, we say in dutch language. Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day.
* must be possible.

My haiku:

After one step follows
Another and many more
Have come and will come

And the proverb:

Step after step the ladder is ascended.

1611  Congrave   S.V.





 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.