Living the dream!

last night I decided to run my moth trap, one last attempt to catch the much longed for December moth Poecilocampa populi. 
Well, I certainly wasn't disappointed as when I opened the trap this morning there were 3 waiting for me on the egg boxes and a further one sitting on the wall! To say I was pleased was an understatement! I was ecstatic!!!
The December moth, flies as it's name suggests late in the year, usually from late October to mid December. It is fairly common, although this is a new 'lifer ' for me.
It has a wingspan of 30-45mm and has fairly constant markings of browny .charcoal forewings with a creamy band across and a creamy white head. The female is much larger than the male, and I have used my final extra to blip the single female I caught. 
This is one of the 3 males, with the wonderful antennae. I can't get over how hairy they are, just like little teddy bears! 
I would assume this is an adaptation to help keep them warm when they fly in the cold winter temperatures.
Guess I better put the trap to bed for 2015 now, it has been quite a year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.