Alma Mater

I left my Editor enjoying Oxford today while I had a day-trip to Birmingham for a meeting. (Although I've been retired for a couple of years I've become involved on a voluntary basis with the assessment of students who are training as "allied health professionals" - working as technicians in eye departments - and this was a meeting to discuss issues related to that.)

As I walked from Oxford station on my return, my route took me past Worcester College; I always like going that way as I was an undergraduate there in the early 1970s so it brings back happy memories. Although it has beautiful grounds and buildings once one is through the door, externally it's not the most imposing college by day. However it looked rather nice in the dark and I was able to capture this shot with a cyclist going past. Bikes are, of course, an extremely popular mode of transport amongst students at Oxford and Cambridge.

(I'd have liked to get the gate and the doorway completely lined up in the photo, but I'd have taken my life in my hands if I'd tried as it's a busy road - so I decided it was safer to take the photo from a traffic island!)

Whilst in Birmingham I'd taken some possible blips, of which I've added two as extras. One shows an amusing street name (rather pointless, one might say!), and the other shows interesting reflections in a building just outside the main station, Birmingham New Street.

(Sorry I'm still behind with comments - I'll try to catch up when I can.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.