Adam's Images

By ajt

New but obsolete

For my better half's computer rebuild, I needed to get a few bits for things no longer on the motherboard. The DVD-ROM and DVD-rewriter are both PATA/ATAPI interface not the more modern SATA interface. I could have bought a new DVD-rewriter or an interface card for the existing ones. The price difference was marginal but I don't want to send more working electrical waste to landfill, so I bough the interface card. I could have probably scrounged one for free on my LUG but I needed it now and didn't want to wait - if I'd have had more time I would have asked around.

Irony or irony I also have the opposite of this situation, and old computer/motherboard but with a SATA interface card in so it can use the newer style devices... but that's another story and another blip.

Today's back blip is of the card, I've desaturated all the colour but the red for effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.