The Gift of the Pink Light

I have never seen anything like it: the bright pink light of dawn on this day. And it only lasted a few minutes. It was around 7 in the morning and we were just getting around and starting our day.

I was inside the house doing my usual morning stuff, and I saw pink light coming through every window. Not just pale pink, but vibrant, full-on BRIGHT PINK. Like those fluorescent colors we used to wear in the 80s; yes, THAT pink.

And so I ran outside with my camera and stood on the front porch looking at the sky, and this was my view. Yes, the sky at dawn was entirely pink. A shocking shade, in fact! And with purple at the edges.

I walked down the drive way and took a few more shots around the property. It was like a gift, or maybe some great big practical joke: our whole world, painted pink.

I turned around at the edge of our property and looked back to see . . . our house bathed in pink too. And I almost laughed out loud: yeah, baby; little pink houses for you and me!

The soundtrack: John Mellencamp, Pink Houses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.