Low Key

6.4C starting bright then clouding over. Showers from midday. Wind to 28 mph with gusts to 45 mph.

Maeve the Deerhound and I went through to Arbroath before 9am and had our walk round the harbour. The lock gate to the inner harbour was closed so we could walk round in a loop. Both inner and outer docks were busy today, with boats moored all along the quays. We walked round to the boatyard. The big boat was still on the slipway but there was no way to get inside to get a picture like last Saturday and the angle from the harbour wall wasn't good with most of the boat hidden behind a shed. It was very cold in the wind and my hands were soon very cold when I had my gloves off to take pictures.

We walked back round to the car, both of us buffeted by the wind. Maeve was being blown about. As we walked back along the inner harbour quayside the sun appeared from behind some clouds and the illumination of some smaller boats gave me a chance for looking down shots. I used a low key setting to give a light against dark look for this shot.

Maeve and I went for a walk before lunch. Enya on the Nano (Dark Sky Island). Just a 2 mile loop down to the shore road and round the main road and back home. We were back in time for the F1 qualifying on telly.

DMC-LX7 f/1.7 1/80 sec. ISO-100 8mm (35mm focal length 47mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.